# Client Tag Values Change in Developer Affecting Clients

**URL:** <https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/client-tag-values-change-in-developer-affecting-clients/81434>\
**Category:** Ignition\
**Tags:** vision\
**Created:** [November 3, 2023, 12:11am UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/client-tag-values-change-in-developer-affecting-clients/81434 "2023-11-03T00:11:59Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![BillS](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/b/9fc348/32.png) [@BillS](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/BillS)\
**Post date:** [November 3, 2023, 12:11am UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/client-tag-values-change-in-developer-affecting-clients/81434/1 "2023-11-03T00:11:59Z")

</div>

Hello,

I was under the impression that since 7.1.6? or thereabouts changes had been made so that the VALUES set in the development environment to vision client tags did not get sent out to the vision clients when saving and pushing the project out.

New client tags should get set to the value the one time they are added, but after that the vision clients should have their own copy of the values which should not be affected by doing the save from the development environment..

I'm on 8.1.33 right now and I'm seeing client tags on my vision clients being overridden by the values that are presently in my designer when I do a save.  
This is causing some problems.

Please let me know if there is a flag in the project settings that I'm missing.

I thought I'd ask here before opening a case with IA.

Thank you,  
Bill S.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![paul-griffith](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/paul-griffith/32/37249_2.png) [@paul-griffith](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/paul-griffith)\
**Post date:** [November 3, 2023, 12:17am UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/client-tag-values-change-in-developer-affecting-clients/81434/2 "2023-11-03T00:17:51Z")

</div>

The rules, as far as I know, haven't _intentionally_ changed since this post:

> [@Client tags reset when system is saved](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/client-tags-reset-when-system-is-saved/1896/7):
>
> Ok so it sounds like the following would be a decent policy: On a hot-update, client tags get the following treatment: Any new client tags get added with the value last seen in the Designer Any deleted client tags get removed Any client tags whose value has ever been changed during the client session retain their value. Any client tags whose value has not been changed receive the last value seen in the Designer.

If you're seeing something different, I would definitely make an "official" case with support for proper investigation.
