# Closing a window in Designer

**URL:** <https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/closing-a-window-in-designer/3173>\
**Category:** Ignition\
**Created:** [August 11, 2011, 3:39pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/closing-a-window-in-designer/3173 "2011-08-11T15:39:21Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![TimE](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/t/ee59a6/32.png) [@TimE](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/TimE)\
**Post date:** [August 11, 2011, 3:39pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/closing-a-window-in-designer/3173/1 "2011-08-11T15:39:21Z")

</div>

I was creating a new window where I copied several items from other windows I had opened. After about an hour of coding I finished, tested and was happy ![:thumb_right:](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/original/1X/2026e28c0c425034352c1b75807edf956adc75f4.gif ":thumb\_right:"). I then went to close the windows I copied from and accidentally clicked the one I was working on. The commit changes dialog came up. I did not want to close this window so I just clicked the upper right hand ‘X’ thinking it would cancel out of the close process. Well, I lost quite a bit of work 😢 .

OK, I admit this feature request is to prevent my own future stupidity 😊 , but…

Would it make sense to add a ‘cancel’ button to the dialog box for situations like this? I usually click ‘yes’ to commit then re open the window but for some reason I wasn’t thinking and just clicked the ‘X’.

Thanks,

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Carl.Gould](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/carl.gould/32/7262_2.png) [@Carl.Gould](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/Carl.Gould)\
**Post date:** [September 8, 2011, 9:41pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/closing-a-window-in-designer/3173/2 "2011-09-08T21:41:01Z")

</div>

Agreed - I did this for 7.3.
