# Commit changes dialog is potentially confusing

**URL:** <https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/commit-changes-dialog-is-potentially-confusing/5001>\
**Category:** Ignition\
**Created:** [August 14, 2012, 4:39pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/commit-changes-dialog-is-potentially-confusing/5001 "2012-08-14T16:39:30Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![AlThePal](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/althepal/32/3603_2.png) [@AlThePal](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/AlThePal)\
**Post date:** [August 14, 2012, 4:39pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/commit-changes-dialog-is-potentially-confusing/5001/1 "2012-08-14T16:39:30Z")

</div>

When you right-click an open window name in the Designer’s Project Browser, you get the following very clear options to Close & Commit or Close & Revert: ![](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/original/2X/d/d5fcafbc5aa61d3499a14b3137f260aa6d2617f3.jpg)  
However, when you click on the Close button on the window tab at the bottom of the main Designer area, you get the following popup: ![](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/original/2X/3/37cb30f23dba8d53883c44a3a718148aa0ca6547.jpg)  
This dialog is a bit confusing - it is not immediately clear that pressing ‘No’ will in fact carry out a revert and you will lose any unsaved changes.

It might be an improvement if the dialog buttons were changed to ‘Commit’, ‘Revert’ and ‘Cancel’, maybe with a couple of lines of text explaining the difference between committing and reverting.
