# \[GRIPE\]Template Deletion

**URL:** <https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/gripe-template-deletion/84460>\
**Category:** Ignition\
**Tags:** ignition81, vision\
**Created:** [January 18, 2024, 5:08pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/gripe-template-deletion/84460 "2024-01-18T17:08:18Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![amarks](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/amarks/32/45610_2.png) [@amarks](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/amarks)\
**Post date:** [January 18, 2024, 5:08pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/gripe-template-deletion/84460/1 "2024-01-18T17:08:18Z")

</div>

When working on a template, if I accidentally select what is usually the "root container" in a window it selects the template itself in the project browser. Then, if I hit delete it will delete the entire template (with a confirmation popup, of course). So, if I'm trying to delete a component and accidentally miss and click the background I might end up deleting the entire template.

Not sure if this is something that can be changed, but it seems like this shouldn't happen. I should have to deliberately select the template in the project browser to delete it. Or, the template itself should not be able to be deleted at all when it's open.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![justinedwards.jle](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/justinedwards.jle/32/37854_2.png) [@justinedwards.jle](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/justinedwards.jle)\
**Post date:** [January 19, 2024, 2:05am UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/gripe-template-deletion/84460/2 "2024-01-19T02:05:46Z")

</div>

I know exactly what you are talking about. This has happened to me before as well ~~_ **without a warning popup,** _~~ and I lost quite a bit of work. I also had this happen once with ctrl-x, but in that case, I was able to click on the templates folder and paste the template back in without losing anything.

**Edit:** Perhaps there was a warning popup, but I simply didn't realize what I was deleting. The whole template suddenly disappearing without recourse is not intuitive or expected.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![amarks](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/amarks/32/45610_2.png) [@amarks](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/amarks)\
**Post date:** [January 19, 2024, 2:19pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/gripe-template-deletion/84460/3 "2024-01-19T14:19:08Z")

</div>

The worst part is that this can't be undone with a simple ctrl+z, like most other things.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![justinedwards.jle](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/justinedwards.jle/32/37854_2.png) [@justinedwards.jle](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/justinedwards.jle)\
**Post date:** [January 26, 2024, 12:43pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/gripe-template-deletion/84460/5 "2024-01-26T12:43:42Z")

</div>

I wonder if there is a feature request for blocking deletion from within the template editor because I would like to vote for that. We kinda have this feature already for windows. Since we can't delete a window's root container, windows never get inadvertently deleted in this way.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![justinedwards.jle](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/justinedwards.jle/32/37854_2.png) [@justinedwards.jle](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/justinedwards.jle)\
**Post date:** [January 26, 2024, 2:24pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/gripe-template-deletion/84460/6 "2024-01-26T14:24:57Z")

</div>

I just found this one:

> **["Are you sure you want to delete?" popup should only be used when the...](https://ideas.inductiveautomation.com/ignition-features-and-ideas/p/are-you-sure-you-want-to-delete-popup-should-only-be-used-when-the-deletion-cant)**
>
> It's not useful as a warning if it appears every single time somebody presses the delete key. It quickly becomes muscle memory to treat deletion as a two-key

It doesn't quite read the way I expected, but it is this issue.
