# Perspective: How can I discard a change to a View?

**URL:** <https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/perspective-how-can-i-discard-a-change-to-a-view/26787>\
**Category:** Ignition Early Access\
**Tags:** perspective\
**Created:** [July 23, 2019, 9:17am UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/perspective-how-can-i-discard-a-change-to-a-view/26787 "2019-07-23T09:17:54Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 8\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![nminchin](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/nminchin/32/6911_2.png) [@nminchin](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/nminchin)\
**Post date:** [July 23, 2019, 9:17am UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/perspective-how-can-i-discard-a-change-to-a-view/26787/1 "2019-07-23T09:17:54Z")

</div>

v8.0.2

I made a change to a View and closed it, but I don’t want to keep the change. I see the View in the Project Browser is italicised, indicating that the next time I save the project, my changes will be committed. What if I want to discard my changes?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![grietveld](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/grietveld/32/6984_2.png) [@grietveld](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/grietveld)\
**Post date:** [July 23, 2019, 12:19pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/perspective-how-can-i-discard-a-change-to-a-view/26787/2 "2019-07-23T12:19:19Z")

</div>

Before you close if you right click the view there is an option to ‘close and revert’, I’m not sure if there is another route. I thought maybe an ‘Update Project’ would overwrite, but that doesn’t seem to be the case.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![jgardner](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/a587f6/32.png) [@jgardner](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/jgardner)\
**Post date:** [July 24, 2020, 6:39pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/perspective-how-can-i-discard-a-change-to-a-view/26787/3 "2020-07-24T18:39:03Z")

</div>

Putting this here in case someone else comes looking as I did. As mentioned, the “Close and Revert” works, but only **before** you close the view for the first time.

The problem is if you have other pending changes you want to keep. Here’s what I did:

- File - \> Save…
- Check every item you want to keep / uncheck the View you want to revert
- Save
- Close the designer -\> Exit

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![mlindstrom](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/mlindstrom/32/30000_2.png) [@mlindstrom](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/mlindstrom)\
**Post date:** [July 29, 2020, 10:59pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/perspective-how-can-i-discard-a-change-to-a-view/26787/4 "2020-07-29T22:59:23Z")

</div>

Is there a similar option to close and revert template changes? I’m not seeing one, but maybe it’s located somewhere besides the right-click menu?

The problem with the checkbox for items to save/not save, is that this only appears for projects set up in a certain way.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![jgardner](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/j/a587f6/32.png) [@jgardner](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/jgardner)\
**Post date:** [July 31, 2020, 2:06pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/perspective-how-can-i-discard-a-change-to-a-view/26787/5 "2020-07-31T14:06:50Z")

</div>

I see what you’re saying - no right click “Close and Revert” for templates. Can’t this be addressed with the (annoying) steps I outlined above?  
I’m picturing your scenario being that you are working on a template and want to revert (discard) changes, but you have other changes you want to save. This is where I would “selective save + close the designer”. Does this workaround not get you where you need to be?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![mlindstrom](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/mlindstrom/32/30000_2.png) [@mlindstrom](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/mlindstrom)\
**Post date:** [July 31, 2020, 6:39pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/perspective-how-can-i-discard-a-change-to-a-view/26787/6 "2020-07-31T18:39:09Z")

</div>

I do not have selective save on my project – just the combined save+publish option. It’s a development project not used in active production, so 99% of the time we just want everything immediately pushed so we can develop faster. Thus, the steps you outlined are not available for me.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![nminchin](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/nminchin/32/6911_2.png) [@nminchin](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/nminchin)\
**Post date:** [August 4, 2020, 1:32am UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/perspective-how-can-i-discard-a-change-to-a-view/26787/7 "2020-08-04T01:32:09Z")

</div>

Can you be extra silly and make a copy of the resource at the file level, save in the designer, and replace the resource with the copy?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![mlindstrom](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/inductiveautomation/user_avatar/forum.inductiveautomation.com/mlindstrom/32/30000_2.png) [@mlindstrom](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/u/mlindstrom)\
**Post date:** [December 1, 2021, 4:59pm UTC](https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/perspective-how-can-i-discard-a-change-to-a-view/26787/8 "2021-12-01T16:59:56Z")

</div>

@nminchin @grietveld @jgardner Yes there are workarounds of course, but none are anywhere near as convenient as the “Close and Revert” that already exists for windows.
