Is it possible to cache information for use between Perspective client sessions

I haven't looked into this at all, but thought I'd ask. I want to be able to cache certain things in the client's device such as login information and other configuration they might customise so I can reload it the next time they open the client. This would be mostly relevant to mobile devices.
Is this possible? And if so, how would I do it? And if not, is it technically possible as a feature request?

Even if I write this data into a database table stored on the gateway. Can I get the details about the client such as a unique identifier that would remain constant across sessions? (clearly I have no Web dev experience, as I'm guessing the answer is pretty obvious)

EDIT: looks like I posted about this twice..

It should be possible to use a browser’s local storage, with permission from the user. You could probably do this today with the SDK.

Doing this in a first party way is something we’d like to do, but there’s no timeline or exact feature specification for that yet.
For now, you’d have to either use a custom module or a database, as mentioned.
session.props.device.identifier is a somewhat stable identifier. It’s not guaranteed to be stable, because the browser/mobile device/user could reset their cache/uninstall+reinstall the app, etc and get a new identifier, but it should be reasonably stable.

4 Likes

I currently do this for app config Settings, I keep a session custom prop that contains all the users preferences in an object, bind it to a named query, and then on changes update that json in the database. Works well for most things but credentials are the only place this would fail.

I look forward to seeing that kind of stuff built in, in the meanwhile I typically just require authentication on the project anyway so they don’t have to remember to login and are forced to. Not a perfect solution but it works