RS Logix Emulator communication with Ignition SCADA

Dear Experts,

I am new to Ignition SCADA. I want to communicate RS Logix Emulator to Ignition SCADA 8.04.
What is the procedure to set up communication between Ignition SCADA and rs Logix emulator.

Thanks & Regards
Sandeep Bakoliya

While this is possible, it is not easy. If you are just wanting to use simulated tags you may want to look into using the simulation drivers.

You can find information on these driver here:
https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/DEP/Simulators

If you really want to use the logix emulator, you have to get FactoryTalk Linx Gateway and get that installed. Then you have to configure an OPC UA connection to Factorytalk. It took me a lot of trial and error to get this to work, but it is possible. There just aren’t any documents that I have found that gives you a step by step on how to do this.

Here’s a walkthrough for Linx Gateway: Ignition Tips, Tricks, and Cheats

Also, the guys doing Flintium project stated they managed to get v32 emulate to work pointed straight to the Logix driver. I wasn’t able to get it to work, but maybe you will have better luck.

@tordvd Were you able to connect to Emulate v32 using the method in the Flintium Wiki?

I havent had the chance to try it yet. I am going to to a project for a customer in plantpax 3.x something after the summer, and will probably try it then. I probably can take a look at the alarming at the same time…

1 Like