Start and End data values

Objective: To display the volume used based on an Easy Charts StartDate and EndDate.

So far I've figured out how to get the charts start and end dates, pass that to a table query and display a listing of all the data points. This is a lot of extra data, as I only need to know the tag's value at the start and end of the time selected on the Easy Chart. I've found a few similar questions on the forum, but none of them look to exclude data. Reading Reading and Writing to Tags - Ignition User Manual 8.0 - Ignition Documentation in the docs, but it will return the values, quality, and timestamp; I want to supply the timestamp to read the value at.

I'm still really new to this, so maybe I'm just not aware of something simple. I think I could get this solved, but at the cost of a lot of unnecessary queries.

Clarification: I only need the volume at the StartDate and at the EndDate, to calculate the difference. The data in between is useless for this purpose, as the level can change due to outside factors.

Iā€™m not for sure exactly what youā€™re looking for. You state you want to display the volume used between the StartDate and EndDate. To me this sounds like you want to aggregate the values.

If thatā€™s the case, then it should be as simple as using and aggregate function in the query.

Other solutions, assuming your using the tag historian, would be to use a Tag History Binding with an aggregation mode or in script use system.tag.queryTagCalculations.

1 Like

Sorry I wasnā€™t clearer, I want to know the values at the Start and the End of the chart, which will be subtracted to determine volume lost to the process. The values in between Start and End can fluctuate as product is pumped between vessels during the process. I only need to know the actual quantity at Start and at End, in between is not necessary. Iā€™ll look further into the Tag History Binding.