About IEC61850...in developing phase?

We are planning to implement a Scada for our new to be implemented substation system in IEC61850. Also it will integrate other process systems with around 5000 signals. We are looking between ignition, ww, winccoa, … but the problem is iec61850 compliance. Any news about 61850 driver in the following months?

As a stop gap I guess you can use KEPWARE’s third party OPC UA which has a support for IEC61850, till its natively supported by Ignition SCADA.

What exactly does kepware? Our Iec61850 RTU can communicate through DNP3… is kepware a iec61850 to opcua bridge? Will I Get the timestamps of the iec61850 events?..or due to the available dnp3 comm is it better to use this? Im a newbie in the standard. Thanks.

If your 61850 RTU can communicate thru DNP3 then I guess you can integrate it with Ignition’s OPC UA server thru DNP3. However the future is IEC 61850 for all electrical devices as its a self defining protocol supporting plug and play interoperability among devices. So I guess kepware OPC UA server offers (and perhaps future Ignition’s OPC UA server will offer) a node on IEC61850 network for seamless integration of devices with SCADA.

Thanks. First question is if kepwarecis a piece of software or also hardware? And what i dont know is exactly what i “get” through kepware opcua in ignition. The same “iec61850 structured info” as if iec61850 is built in in Scada? I mean, from outside and in operative way couldnt one see the difference? So, when ignition driver appears then are there reasons to change then to it or should i keep kepware?