Add .JAR for using classes in Jython scripts

Hello!

I started playing with ignition some weeks ago and I would like to use in python some classes/methods from java libraries that are not included in the standard libraries. (i.e. vectorz, poi-ooxml…)

What is the best way to do this?

I’ve been reading the SDK programmers guide and started learning about Java and maven. I’ve installed eclipse, maven, build a module from the gateway-designer-client archetype, configured the hooks with "import " and added to the pom.xml files the libs/versions as dependencies.

After packaging the module (correctly -apparently-, with some .jar and .pack.jar.gz files that maven considers necessary inside the .modl) and signing, I can upload it to my gateway and it shows as “Running”, but I still can’t use the libraries in the playground.

Couldn’t see an example of this in the ignition-sdk-examples. Is this the way to go? Is there another way to use java libraries in python without using a module?

Thanks!
Regards!

If you’re trying to use these libraries in the script playground you have to make sure your module loads them in the appropriate scope(s).

For access in scripting you probably want to load them into all 3 scopes (C, D, G).

Hello Kevin, thanks for the answer.

When you say “your module loads them in the appropriate scope(s)” you mean import them in the 3 hook classes or there’s more to be done?

You just need an empty hook class for each scope, to make sure each scope depends on the jar(s) you’re trying to import, and to make sure the module.xml declares the dependency on the jar in all 3 scopes and has all 3 hooks specified.

Hello!

Thanks Kevin for your responses. I’ve managed to make it work in the designer & client. No luck in the gateway :frowning:.

Libraries are not being loaded in the gateway, when called I get errors (no class found). Libs seems OK (gateway scripts work when libs are placed in the libs folder manually).