Allen Bradley PLC tag preparation

Hello-

I apologize if this is a repeat topic but I couldn’t find anything is broad as I’m looking for on the forum.

I have a few years of experience building HMI/SCADA with Ignition, but no experience directly programming with Allen Bradley/RSLogix etc. I also have no experience with any other SCADA besides Ignition, for context.

We are getting a new piece of equipment with AB PLC (still waiting on model# and firmware but I believe either ControlLogix or CompactLogix). They have quoted me $10,000 addition for “setup” of connection to SCADA. This is for hardware addition of external ethernet card (this makes sense) but also for “preparing program tags” to be accessible by SCADA. I’m not familiar with what would be required on the RSLogix side but in the past I have had no issues connecting ‘plug and play’ to our other AB PLCs to find the data I need- the biggest challenge was browsing through huge amounts of tags to find what I was looking for without guidance from the program. I was just hoping for them to point me to the tags (probably less than 30) that I would need that would be useful for tracking machine performance, status, alarms, OEE, etc. Is the manufacturer possibly confused about what I need? It seems like a huge cost for what I imagine to be a small ask. This is not a custom piece of equipment and I can’t imagine I’m the first to want to connect to SCADA.

To put in simpler- what do I need to communicate to a vendor about what I need from them to connect Ignition to AB PLC besides an ethernet card with IP address on our SCADA subnet? Is it standard to have to “prepare” a list of tags or should they be able to easily point me to the location of tags in OPC browser?