Any idea how to put the setpoint of alarm into a text field?

Hi im new with ignition, any tips on how do i put the setpoint of a alarm into a text field?

Unfortunately this is not a simple dot-field under the tag but I hope someday it will be.

If you like the idea of it being an exposed parameter under the tag please vote up my request:
https://inductiveautomation.canny.io/ignition-features-and-ideas/p/expose-all-properties-of-a-tag

Anyhow, you have to start here:
https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/DOC80/system.tag.getConfiguration

As you drill into the configuration, you will see the setpoint configured on an alarm on a specific tag.

I always setup setpoint tags. That way you can easily access them.

This is for Ignition 8, but what about 7.9 and lower? Is there a way to get alarm properties for a tag in 7.9?

you could use this

system.tag.getAlarmStates

you would have to loop thru each alarm state and grab the setpoint property. what exactly you would have to do would be dependant on your alarming setup.

2 Likes

Thanks, let me explore.

much easier to just create the setpoint tag. my typical analog would have 4 states, HH,H,L,LL. I just create 4 memory tags the name of the tag but with HHSP,HSP,LSP,LLSP appended on the end.

I agree this is a straightforward approach but it does not scale well. In 10,000 tag systems I don’t want to track a whole bunch of extra memory tags.

Is there a way to export the tag configuration into an XML file or object thru a script function? The manual export of tag or tag folder XML from designer exports all properties including alarm properties. If its possible to export them in a file or an object thru scripts, then we can modify them and re-import them with new properties. It will change what ever parameters that we want to change!