Anyone able and willing to give me a quick video-call intro into Ignition? (Willing to promise to work an Open-Source Apache PLC4X driver package in exchange)

Hi all,

I am currently working on building a module for an Apache IoTDB-based Tag-Historian module. However I am completely new to Ignition and struggling a bit with some of the concepts (Like I have to add my S7 devices in the OPC-UA server etc.)

Now I thought: I think I have something to bring to the table: Drivers
Apache PLC4X we currently have drivers I couldn't see in the default installation:

• ADS/AMS (Beckhoff)
  • CAN
  • CtrlX (WIP)
  • EIP
  • Firmata
  • IEC-60870
  • KNXNet/IP
  • Profinet (WIP)
  • Umas (WIP)
    I think there would be quite some benefit if I porvided an open-source PLC4X module.

So would someone here be willing (within the next 2-3 days) to give me a quick walk-through and help with the questions I have? Ideally that person should not only be proficient with Ignition as a user, but also as a developer for developing modules.

Chris

1 Like

Are you aware of the Inductive University online video tutorials. Each is only a few minutes long.

Haven't heard of that, will have a look, but I doubt it will help too much, as I'm currently struggling with code-level problems ... trying to build a custom Historian Module based on the existing one ...

There is a video on module building here:

Ignition PLC driver guru is @Kevin.Herron of Inductive Automation.

From an integrator point of view outside IA, @pturmel has developed multiples PLC drivers: https://www.automation-pros.com/modulesales.html
and share some very valuable informations thru this forum.

Since Ignition 8, drivers interact with opcua milo stack:

Public example of a basic driver can be found here:

The PLC data collected by the driver module are exposed in Ignition opcua server.

1 Like

Hi all,

I'm currently not trying to build a driver integration module ... that's on my todo list :wink: