Arduino to Modbus, HELP!

I need help with a project I am working on, I am very new to Ignition and python, We have a gauge that needs to be aligned with respect to a string, the gauge outputs its position with respect to the string as center(Y-axis) and power(X-axis). the center(Y-axis) is pretty straight forward, it returns a positive value if the gauge is too far back and a negative value I the gauge is too far forward. unfortunately for the power(X-axis) the gauge only returns positive values as the output signal is a square function.
I am having trouble with two things, one is how to get values from an expression tag into an OPC tag, I am using a SQL query to pull averages of the power(x-axis) and center(y-axis) values from the local database and I want to save it into the OPC tag I created to send it to the Arduino.

2nd problem.
I am having trouble writing the logic to flip the direction in power(x-axis) if the power values get bigger over time. I wanted to write something that will create like a moving average and compare it to the current value and maybe then move the gauge and then waits to check if the power(x-value) got smaller, else it flips the direction of the motor and moves the gauge the other way.

for my setup, I am using an Arduino UNO connected to ignition through Modbus. and the Arduino is connected to two stepper motors

any help would be much appreciated

(forgive my terrible code)

def tensiongaugemovement():
	        import time
			import threading
            import system
            import sys

# adding Tag paths
			averagepowervalue = "Tension Interface/Status/Average Tension Gauge Power Reading"
			averagecentervalue = "Tension Interface/Status/Average Tension Gauge Fiber Center"
			center_gauge = "Tension_Arduino/Center_Gauge" # this is the center value going to the arduino
			power_gauge = "Tension_Arduino/Power_Gauge"	  # this is the power value going to the arduino