Automation Direct PLCs

What’s everyone’s experience with Automation Direct PLCs? How is the OPC server/driver support? The price is definately right.

I myself do not like these plc. They are cheaply built and hard to program in my experience. When they are in a Machine that I am working on. I replace them ASAP.

1 Like

I've been successful with Automation Direct PLCs on small projects.

Frankly, they’re a lot like working with the old A-B PLC2

Automation Direct is the trader, the PLC’s is the KOYO.
The KOYO make the old Siemens.
I start use them 4-5 year ago and don’t experience any problem.
I’m a AB programmer and took me a mount to learn AD (it is ladder logic).
The cheaper price is come from skipping the middle man with direct sale.
:thumb_right:

We have 24 of them at work. Have never had any of them fail yet. 4 of ours are the older DL-305 PLCdirect branded product from Koyo and they are in production equipment. 6+ years no failures.

The remaining 20 plcs are a mixture of DL-05 and DL-06 models which are newer and all of which have been solid performers. 4+ years on these no failures.

On half of these we utilize the ECOM-100 Ethernet module along with its email capability all of which work awesome. Sharing points and data between units via the ECOM module works pretty slick also.

We also use RS232 and RS485 on a few to tie Master/Slave units together.

We have swapped out a handful of base line AB micrologix 1100 with them without problems and at a significant reduction in cost.

The programming in my opinion is excellent and easy to understand. The built in help of the DirectLogics V5 software is very helpful. Tech support via Automation Direct has also been excellent.

Driver support, I’m using the Ignition OPC-UA MODBUS TCP driver now and mapping to the MODBUS memory locations and works just fine for me.

For OPC drivers, the Kepware OPC Servers both KepServerEX demo and KepDirect have all worked just fine for me.