Best Practices for Handling Unusual Modbus Data Types

I’m a new developer on the Ignition platform. I’ve been playing around with the demo for some time, but I finally have my first real-world project. I want to make sure I’m using best practices to so that project modification and up-keep is easy and less likely for me to make mistakes.

My question is, are there any best practice guidelines regarding the handling of custom Modbus data types? For example, I am working with multiple power meters that all support ModbusTCP. All the meters have the same values that I need to monitor (e.g. Voltage, Current, Power Factor, etc.), but since each meter has a different manufacturer the Modbus addresses and datatypes will be different. It seems to me that I should use some UDTs because I will be pulling the same set of information from each meter and this will allow me to make sure all the common properties are identical (e.g. history, alarming, and metadata settings) across all meters and can be updated on all instances from one location. As long as all the variations in the data structures can be handled by specifying a different Modbus register via the OPC item path, different source data type, or different scaling settings, this works great.

However, one of the values in one of the manufacturer’s meters is stored in a non-standard manner (as is common when dealing with Modbus). The manufacturer decided to store one value in sign-magnitude notation instead of 2s complement (the standard way signed integers are represented by all modern computers). Fortunately, the manufacturers manual gives a handy conversion (if (value < 0) value -= 32768). I am able to read the “raw” sign-magnitude data into an “XYZ_Raw” tag and then perform the required calculation by using an expression tag.