Button Events Within Templates

I’m looking for a little help launching different popups from a button click within a multiple template instances. I can do this for the master template fine, but obviously it will launch the same popup from every template instance and I need to be able to launch different popups from each instance. When I try to do the mouse click scripting on the instance, it works, but only if you click on the template area around the button. I’m sure this is easy, but I’m just getting started with Ignition. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Could you have the popup window name as a template parameter. This will allow you to set a unique value for each template instance, thereby opening a different popup.

1 Like

I also was trying to do some sort of template button but couldn’t get it working as I’d like. Had the same problem with the mouse click scripting. Would be interested to see what others have come up with. I was hoping to pass in script parameters through the template.

So I think I got this working now if anyone is interested. I created a string template parameter that allowed me to pass my popup reference through. In my case, I enter Popups/mypopup in the template instance. Then in the master template, I created a mouseclicked script for the button and used the pass parameter to launch the popup in the script editor.

2 Likes

So, I’m basically trying to do something similar with having a button as a template.
I was able to customize the button for aesthetics and add some scripting to it in the template, but I want all the different instances of the template to be able to point to different pages as these are navigation buttons. The action performed event handler disappeared from the options for scripting for the button objects. I tried to script the ‘BACK’ and ‘HOME’ buttons using the mouse clicked scripting but it is not working for me. Any thoughts or ideas how to do this?