Calling OpcUa Server Methods

Hi,

I’m new to Ignition. I’d like to create a button on my dashboard to call a method on my opc server, some thing like system.opcua.callMethod(“Ignition-Hound”, “ns=2;i=111”, “ns=2;i=162”, null);

I have learned a little about the various contexts in which scripts can run but wherever I try and use a script I don’t have access to an opcua package or module. I can use system.opc but not system.opcua

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!

system.opcua.callMethod has a Gateway scope.

Need a bit more information:

Visoin or Perspective
What version.
Any error you’re receiving.
Pertinent code sample

Thank you for your reply!

I started using Vision but I think I’m about to switch to Perspective. The version of Ignition is 8.1.4.

The code example would be:
Add a button in the ActionPerformed script add:
system.opcua.callMethod(“Ignition-Hound”, “ns=2;i=111”, “ns=2;i=162”, null);

The error is:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “event:actionPerformed”, line 1, in
AttributeError: ‘com.inductiveautomation.ignition.common.script.Imm’ object has no attribute 'opcua’

at org.python.core.Py.AttributeError(Py.java:207)
at org.python.core.PyObject.noAttributeError(PyObject.java:1032)
at org.python.core.PyObject.__getattr__(PyObject.java:1027)
at org.python.pycode._pyx58.f$0(<event:actionPerformed>:1)
at org.python.pycode._pyx58.call_function(<event:actionPerformed>)
at org.python.core.PyTableCode.call(PyTableCode.java:171)
at org.python.core.PyCode.call(PyCode.java:18)
at org.python.core.Py.runCode(Py.java:1614)
at com.inductiveautomation.ignition.common.script.ScriptManager.runCode(ScriptManager.java:796)
at com.inductiveautomation.factorypmi.application.binding.action.ActionAdapter.runActions(ActionAdapter.java:206)
at com.inductiveautomation.factorypmi.application.binding.action.ActionAdapter.invoke(ActionAdapter.java:297)