Certification change: feedback

Hi, as someone who interviews and hire people that will exclusively work on Ignition projects for a 100k person company, I think the recent announcement to change the certification process to be on site only is a bad decision.

Having done a few of the gold certification tests myself, I know that the tests do a really good job of making sure the test taker actually understands how things fit together, and also understands them well enough to accomplish a task that involves some problem solving and piecing together a few different functionalities.

Further, I think that the current design of mostly self taught learning tells me that the person knows how to figure things out. They are able to read the documentation or watch the learning materials, internalize it, and then apply it.

I cant imagine many people will have the time or money to be able to travel to California to attend the training. Its unfortunate to limit so many across the globe in this way. I think it really goes against the whole idea behind IU, that the more people you get to learn (and prove they've learned) ignition, the better.

I also have little faith that if someone did attend the training, and did nothing except show up every day, that they would then fail the certification test (if there even is a test?). Of course having on site training is a great thing and I'm glad that you offer it, but Im just not sure I would have any faith in the certification process if each individual is no longer required to complete a (challenging) test on their own.

Anyway, to summarize, I think this change will basically eliminate any trust I have in the certification as someone who specifically looks for it in resumes and includes it as something we want in our job listings.

14 Likes

The courses required for certification are being offered both in person and virtually.

7 Likes

ah ok, sorry i missed the virtual part