Changing Motor Folder to Motor Instance Tag?

I am currently using the Programmable Device Simulator and one of the programs that Ignition pre-made. I ran into this problem when trying to create use a UDT for a template. The motors amp and HOA properties are defined in a folder and I can’t upload a folder to template properties. Is there a way to change that motor folder into a motor instance tag while keeping the same amp and HOA properties? Could I do this on the gateway side of things or is a motor instance something that is created and modified on only the Designer?
Would going through the device settings on Gateway and setting the expression defining the amps to define the motor then branching off of those with the Amp and HOA properties in the Designer work?
Also, would there be a way to use the motor folders in this instance with some workaround scripting or no? I am new to Ignition so my scripting knowledge is very little.

Where there is a will, there is a way.

But your cleanest, easiest way will be to create a UDT with said properties, and create instances for each motor.

Then use indirect tag addressing in your template so it works dynamically with your UDT instances

1 Like

In addition to what @andrews said, what you’ve got there is a Template that has a UDTType template parameter defined which links to a type of motor UDT definition. These let you directly link a UDT instance of that type to the Template when you use it on a screen. While it might seem useful on the surface, there are a few downsides which for me and a lot of others means we steer clear of using UDTType parameters whatsoever.

The alternative solution as @andrews mentions is to create string type parameters to pass in the tag path to the device instance. Then you can use indirect tag bindings within the Template to read any tag attached to the device such as hoa, status, etc.