Client not launching in Google Chrome

I am new to ignition and attempting to run client launcher from Google Chrome. the launcher window opens fine but when I try to launch an individual client all I get is the .jnlp script to run the client. I can run the client from our local client launcher with no issues but not from Chrome. Our ignition is 7.9.11. I get no errors or warnings. Not sure where to start.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Launching with a JNLP is not using a client launcher. JNLP is “Webstart”, which was deprecated long ago, and is no longer supported in java. You will have to make sure to use a version of java that still has the “javaws” executable. And plan to wean yourself from the launch-by-web-link infrastructure, as it is entirely gone in Ignition v8.

Just to confirm, you should be using the Native Client Launcher to launch your clients and designer sessions, not the links available on the gateway homepage.

Thank you for the reply, makes sense to not use the web launcher if it won’t be supported by the next version. The only reason I was attempting to use that is because the resolution on the native client launcher does not fit my screen. I find myself having to scroll vertically and horizontally to access menus or to see the whole screen. I was told that this was the result of some sort of upgrade done prior to me working here. Are there options for adjusting resolution on the native launcher?

This sounds more like a monitor resolution issue. The size of the client launcher window is 752 x 652.

Makes me wonder what sort of ‘upgrade’ happened here. :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

I may have not worded that correctly. So the actual launcher screen fits fine within my laptop screen but the Home page that I directs me to or launches is much larger than my screen. my res is 1920 x 1080. I have went down with resolution and back up with no effect on the client screen.