CNC Inventory Manipulation

@pturmel, et al, do you have any knowledge, contacts, etc on any existing automated systems to manipulate inventory? I can’t find anything online except software management suites, maybe I’m searching with the wrong keywords, not sure.

I’m considering doing my master’s thesis on a system to automate fabric handling at the plant I work at. We have Lowe’s Hardware/Home Depot type shelving that contains thousands of fabric bolts (horizontally). These are all picked and placed manually from forklifts. I was thinking of designing a CNC-based solution that could remove a fabric bolt and place on a conveyor belt.

I have extensive experience with fully custom automatic storage and retrieval, with servo-driven telescoping fork mechanisms on lift/rails, an AB PLC controlling the servos, and Ignition scheduling the product traffic. (:

Application details are under an NDA. ):

But, as I normally insist, I retain ownership of my code and algorithms, and can reuse anywhere so long as my client’s IP is protected. (:

Gotcha.

This is a huge project, so most likely, I will do research and analysis on financial, safety, and productivity aspects. Then define parameters and specifications on theoretical operation. In the end, I don't think I will actually get to build anything, except maybe a crude proof-of-concept prototype. If it proves to be viable, who knows, maybe the company will contract the job out for implementation :slight_smile:

I may bounce an idea or two off of you every now in then if you don't mind. I have a concept design in the back of my head that I need to get on paper, it may be total junk, not sure :crazy_face:

I’m gonna guess your forklifts have a rod instead of a normal fork, to lift from the bolt’s core. I can already picture in my mind how I’d do this, but that won’t write your thesis… :laughing: