CompactLogix, Ignition, and DINTS help needed please

Good morning everyone,

I’m new to Ignition, and having some trouble figuring out something that should be fairly easy. At least I think so anyway. Here’s my problem:

I’m using Ignition 8.1, talking to a CompactLogix PLC. This PLC has a bunch of tags in it for faults, all in DINT format. So I have something along the lines of
Cell.Fault
Cell.Fault[0] through Cell.Fault[9]
Cell.Fault[0].0 through Cell.Fault[0].31
So the fault description is at the bit level, in the above example Cell.Fault[0].0 is ‘Low Air Pressure’

My goal was to create an overview for each piece of equipment. On that overview there is a label that looks at the overall fault bit in the PLC, which is off whenever anything is faulted. Easy peasy. So I want the user to be able to click on that label and have a new screen load that will give a fault history, showing a table with all the faults over a period of time with their description and start, end(if applicable) and duration.

Hopefully that upload inserted the picture of what I’m trying to create. above this line. Anyway, the first problem I’m running into is that short of making Ignition tags for each bit in the PLC DINT, I don’t see a way to get those alarm descriptions into the history on the Ignition side. I can create a bool array, but I can’t change the name of the bit. In another post I was given a UDT to use that does a little function on the DINT to parse out the bits. I could change the names of the bits here, but I’m going to have to create a UDT for each PLC DINT anyway, which kinda defeats the purpose of using a UDT in the first place. I thought maybe I could import all those descriptions into the SQL database and look them up somehow, using fixed data sets or something but I don’t see a straight forward way to do that either.

This is so easy to do in the PanelView software it can’t be that hard in Ignition, can it?

Any help would be appreciated.