CompactLogix

Hello,
I’m a student and I’ve having trouble in understanding how I can connect IGNITION to a device. I need to work with an Allen Bradley PLC through [color=#4000BF]1768-ENBT[/color] module. I’ve read that you have a driver for CompactLogix and I don’t know if this could work for me. In that case, how I set and connect it to my PLC?
I’ve always worked with Intouch and DDE connection, so I don’t know if it is necessary to set up the RSLinx and other OPC server or just RSLinx.
Please, I know this question is too basic but I’m trying a new solution for the labs on my school and I really like to achieve in this with Ignition. Could somebody help me?

Oh a 1768-enbt, must be a L4x model eh?

You do not need RsLinx for Ignition to talk to the CompactLogix no.

You will need the OPC-UA module for ignition.(You can request a free key for just this part, or run the whole system in trial mode)

Basically, you need to know the IP address currently assigned to the PLC.
The system Ignition is running on needs to be able to talk to this IP address(You can verify this by entering the IP address into a web browser, this will take you to an overview page for the 1768-enbt if it works).
Log onto the config for ignition, head to the OPC-UA - Device section.
Add a device, Choose Allen-Bradley, Ethernet, CompactLogix, hit next.
Give this a name in ‘Device Name’ and put the IP address of the PLC into the ‘hostname’ box. Leave everything else alone for now. Hit save.
You can now go to the Status Page, look at Device Connections, You should see your device connected if everything was successful.

That’s it!

Thank you for your answer, but I was not able to connect with the PLC.