Completely new to Ignition and SCADA

I have been asked here at work to help kick off bringing ignition to our factory. I have no experience with SCADA or Ignition. Where do I start? I contacted Inductive Automations sales team and they recommended an Integrator. So do I choose an integrator and they do all the work and we send them a large check? I’m trying to find any information that says follow A/B/C to get started with the project.

Any help would be appreciated. i am just trying to get a general direction to start in.

Thanks

Welcome!

Inductive University is where I would start, followed (paralleled) with downloading the trial, connecting to a spare PLC of the brand you use, connect to a DataBase, etc

2 Likes

Thanks~

So I have created my login to the university and watched some of the first tutorials. Have I not gone far enough? What I am seeing is how to use the software. Where does an integrator come into things?

An integrator would (should) know how to use the software already, so it’s really a matter of time, do you have time to learn it yourself?

I don’t believe so. They want it installed and running by January 1st on several pieces of equipment. I am hoping to stay on the project and learn as I go but that is a long term goal. We have an IT department. So they would manage the server portion. Does the Integrator wire the RTU’s to the PLC’s etc?

I do wiring (I am an integrator), not all do, some are code only… ask…

Thanks I’ll do that!

Contact your sales rep as well, talk through any questions or concerns you may have.

On top of IU and this forum, you can contact IA support, your sales rep or account executive, your sales manager, and your integrator program manager. These individuals should be linked under your integrator account.

Sorry, should have read closer, I thought you were an integrator.