Connect Weighing Scale with Ignition

Hello All,

I need a little help here, I am new to Ignition , but am using the trial model to see if it provides me with information required for my decision making.

I have 3 different weighing scales setup on my production floor

They provide two simple pieces of information

1. Time
  2. Weight

I have connected these weighing scales via RS-232 to a Computer and I am getting the Data feed from them.

But it is configured on a vendor software that is not too good for me.

I want to replace it with Ignition Database and use it to get reporting on timely basis.

So for example I want to see a Process Control Chart ( Time and Weight ) for different Shifts in my production schedule.

There are three shifts

Shift A- 7:00 am - 3:00 pm
Shift B - 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Shift C - 11:00 pm - 7:00 am

Now I want to use Ignition to Add up all the weight`s measured and provide me an accurate output information.

How do I do that ? Starting from the basics ? Like How do I connect the DEVICES , I can use the DESIGNER

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
Syed

What are the weigh scales and what type of scales are they connected to?

Check weigher or batch scales?

Any PLC involved?

Your best option may be to replace the weigh scales with scales that have Ethernet capabilities.
Ignition can connect directly to any weigh scale with Modbus TCP/IP driver ,such as Hardy 4050 , or Toledo IND
with this optional purchased module:

marketplace.inductiveautomation. … oduleId=63

Thank you for your reply, Please see below details of weighing scale indicator

AX-Series Pelican Smart Weighing Indicator
Pelican Digital Weighing Indicator adopting high intensity interference-free single chip MPU, along with high-precision A/D conversion technique and AC/DC dual use It can be used in Platform scale, Floor Scale, and Other Weighing applications.
High Precision AD conversion. Readability is up to 1/30000