Connecting Ignition to an iNOEX production line?

Hi everyone, it’s been years since I’ve posted, but now find myself on a new project that is already proving to be difficult… This post is a hail mary pass for sure…

There is an older pipe extrusion line that we want to connect to, for the sole purpose of data acquisition. However, no one can tell me where the controllers are located, and I’m not an electrical engineer. The equipment is built by iNOEX (http://www.inoex.de/products-new/gravimetry/saveomat-10/?L=3) and it looks all custom built (and proprietary). Not as simple as looking in the cabinets for parts with “Siemens” or “Allen Bradley” labels…

My question is: Where can I find the PLC that controls this beast, and how can I connect to it?

So I am looking for guidance from anyone who has experience in connecting Ignition to:

1. an iNOEX system (ideally), or
  2. some other old or proprietary system that no one will openly discuss

Any suggestions or guidance out there? I apologize - I know it’s very vague at this point…

Thanks in advance,
Cas

Big assumption there. There are crazy machine builders out there that run their gear with all kinds of propriety realtime engines and/or softPLCs. Historically often out of a need for speed that PLCs couldn't achieve.

I have come across these kind of systems. One such system was running on a “top secret” soft PLC written in c language. My guess is mostly it will be a Modbus PLC. Find the communication cable, connect it to your laptop, and use some data capturing tools or protocol sniffer which is freely available on internet. Copy paste the data packets and do some google research. You will get some clue. I did this technique to develop a communication driver for a top secret control panel and found it was Modbus. You need to do some reverse engineering…