ControlLogix tags not visible

I have several ControlLogix connections that are operating normally. Once device, though, is giving problems. I can browse to the device, global tags, and I can see the “first tier” of some tags. Under that tier, we have UDT tags that do not show. I know that they exist because I have been accessing them from another product for 4+ years. Knowledgebase article 147 shows a tag properties dialog with an option for setting “External Access”. Looking at RSLogix 5000, the Tag Properties dialog does not have that option. The Logix 5563 device is rev 16. That may be the problem. Do I need a later revision or does anyone have a suggestion for revealing the tags?

What version of Ignition do you have?

Is that the only rev. 16 clx you’re using?
I’ve had to update the rev on those before because of spotty comm to a PanelView Plus.
I don’t remember the details exactly, but as I remember it, the way that rev 16 handled messages was not quite right.

Whether or not that’s the problem, it’s worth looking into.
But be sure you have the firmware updates for the other modules before you update the processor.

Cheers!

We are running Ignition 7.5.2. I believe all our other ControlLogix (about 5 devices) are on version20.
From our current device, which I am trying to replace with Ignition, the tag looks like XCplr_Hood1.XCplr_Hood1.MSG088.Batch_ID. Since that device is a module in the ControlLogix Chassis, it reads the processor across the backplane and can only “see” global scoped tags. What I can see with the OPC Browser is [Line400].Global.XCplr_Hood1 as a “folder”.

I am checking with our Server Support group about installing 7.5.3 to see if that affects the problem.

Oops, forgot to note that upgrading that particular ControlLogix from ver 16 to 20 is not a trivial task. It is running in an environment with RSBatch, RSView, and FactoryTalk. I believe they all have to be at a compatible version. I am checking with Rockwell Automation on that point.