Conversion from Aspentech

Hi, I am new to Ignition but has anyone had any experience of converting a system from Aspentech GCS? Are there any issues that I should be aware of? Ignition seems very nice, as a programmer from way back and SCADA user it is pretty much what I would have written myself.

Possibly open ended question. Is this just quirks with Ignition itself or GCS specific integration issues?

Ignition can be sometimes be very limiting and sometimes very scalable depending on workload. When we used a mysql database for the tag datastore we had scaling issues around that with 100,000s of points and frequent updates. We ended up writing a custom module that removed that problem altogether but took some effort and requires regular changes as Ignition gets updated but infinitely better. Ignition’s designer is extremely powerful and is its best feature in my opinion.

I’m ashamed that I never heard of GCS (former HYSYS/A+ developer and IP.21 user). I think it depends on how you plan on integrating data. I didn’t use GCS so dont know its quirks (and being Aspen it must have quirks) and a lot will depend on how you plan on getting data into Ignition.

Aspen IP.21 ODBC adapters worked though I never got the 64-bit adapter working before we dropped it and had the occasional problem of it freezing the whole database thread in Ignition which would break all other database connections. So I had to monitor that and kill the socket connection periodically. We never used the OPCUA adapter with Ignition so no experience with that.