Converting .csv to .xml

I am having difficulties importing my existing tags from a 3rd party application (RSView32). When I export the tag database from the 3rd party .csv is the only option, and when I attempt to import the .csv file into Ignition it is not a recognized .csv format. Is converting the .csv file to a .xml file the only way to import my file, due to the old format from the 3rd party application? If so how do I go about doing that, as I have very little knowledge when it comes to working within the .csv and .xml files.

Thanks in advance for any input.

There is no ability as far as I am aware to do a direct import of a RSview32 tag export.

You will need to reformat the csv file with the correct columns and rows to be able to import into ignition.

Ignition V7.6 excepts both CSV and XML, so if you are more savvy with Excel then I would go that way.

I found the easiest method was to create some tags that are simular to what you have in RSview32 then export that out as a template. This will need to be done in V7.5 to get a CSV export.

To work with XML create some tags in V7.6 and export to get the template.

Thanks for your response. Looks like I have a lot of work on my hands!

[quote]There is no ability as far as I am aware to do a direct import of a RSview32 tag export.

You will need to reformat the csv file with the correct columns and rows to be able to import into ignition.

Ignition V7.6 excepts both CSV and XML, so if you are more savvy with Excel then I would go that way.

I found the easiest method was to create some tags that are simular to what you have in RSview32 then export that out as a template. This will need to be done in V7.5 to get a CSV export.

To work with XML create some tags in V7.6 and export to get the template.[/quote]

0sm0’s suggestion is going to be the way to attack this issue.

Greg —