Create a report that shows how long a REAL value was above a setpoint each hour for the month

I have a REAL value that I am logging in the Tag Historian. I would like to know how long the REAL value was above a certain value (lets say greater than 10) each hour for the last month. What would be the best approach to getting this data into a report?

You should be able to use system.tag.queryTagHistory to get your samples, then loop over those samples, if it’s greater than your target, get the difference between that sample’s time and the next one and add it to a running total

1 Like

I am fairly new to Ignition so you lost me at “You should be able to use system.tag.queryTagHistory…”.
Would this function be used in a custom script in the report designer? I have not done any scripting in Ignition as of yet so sample would be useful.

No worries. Yes, this would be in a script data source in the report.

https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/DOC81/system.tag.queryTagHistory

It’s actually a little bit involved. Bare with me…

Ok, I think I have it. Test this in the Designer Script Console.
Note: this is sampling at a rate of 1min, averaging any samples within that time. If you want to use raw samples without interpolation, i’ve commented out two params in the queryTagHistory arguments. You’ll also then need to then calculate the difference in time between the current sample and the next sample and add that to the total instead of just adding 1 minute.

Note 2: the resulting dataset is the number of minutes that the tag value was higher than the target for each hour

from copy import copy

targetValue = 880
paths = ['path/to/tag']
endDate = system.date.now()
#endDate = system.date.setTime(endDate, 23, 59, 59)

startDate = copy(endDate)
startDate.setDate(1) # set the day to the start of the month
startDate = system.date.setTime(startDate, 0, 0, 0) # set the time to 00:00:00

intervalMinutes = 1

samples = system.tag.queryTagHistory(paths = paths,