Create dataset from a function

Hi all,

I am very new to Ignition and scripting so I am learning on multiple fronts. I am working on a sample project just to learn.

I want to split the results of system.project.getProjectNames() into a single column dataset.

I thought I would use split() to do this but have not been able to.

I ultimately want to this dataset on a dropdown to select a project to retarget.

All help and advice is much appreciated.

Thanks, Steven

That function returns a list of names (an array in other language terms).
To convert to a dataset to use on a dropdown you need to add each element into a dimensional list, in this case a single dimensional list. Think, if you have multiple columns in your table, you would have multiple dimensions to the table list.

projectNames = system.project.getProjectNames() 
data=[[projectName] for projectName in projectNames] 
ds = system.dataset.toDataSet(['projectName'], data)
dropDownObj.data = ds

I’m guessing projectMames will give you some trouble. :grinning:

Problem solved.

1 Like

I would blame autocucumber, but I think it was more anti-dexterous fingers

1 Like

This is what I want to do. How do I get this dataset bound the dataset property on the dropdown?

Do I need to create a DB table?

Sorry for the fundamental questions but this is very new to me.

Thanks, Steven

Vision or Perspective?

I’m sorry, Vivion

thanks, steven

I would put it in the window's InternalFrameActivated event. This event fires each time the window is activated.

@JordanCClark that sounds like a good idea. Now if I new how to do that, that would be great.

InternalFrameActivated is not on the scripting event handler list for the main window or the component.

How would I go about doing this?

Thanks, teven

https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/DOC80/Component+Events

Right-click on the window name in the project tree. Note: The window has to be open, or it will be greyed out.