Create New Alarm Priority/Class

Hi all,

I’ve been looking into Ignition as a potential SCADA solution for our future projects and came across smth that I can not figure out.

In process industries it is very common to follow IEC 62682 (Alarm Management) standard. Long story short, it means that every project can and should define what alarms classes it want to use.
Hence my question: is it possible to add new alarm priorities to the ones already defined in Ignition (Diagnostic/Low/Medium/High/Critical)? Or is it possible to edit/rename the pre-defined ones?

Alarm priorities are fixed, unfortunately.

The design of Ignition’s alarm system was influenced by The Alarm Management Handbook, one of the results being the use of a fixed number of priorities (Critical, P1, P2, P3, P4). We just tweaked the names a bit.

Can we change the names of the existing priorities? e.g. ‘Low’ priority to be names as ‘Warning’

I think he already answered, sorry, didn’t mean for you to post here, just to get your answer here. My bad for being confusing.

The priority levels and the names are fixed.

1 Like