Creating a report to visualize a data array

Good Morning, I am very new to Ignition and was wondering about the ability to create a report based on a data array of real numbers that I would to print after each cycle of my machine. I have an array in my PLC that gets filled by a real number during the cycle of the machine. I have sensors that point my data to the correct position in the array. My array could look like the example below, but it’s much longer.

0.0 / 0.0 / 1.25 / 20.12 / 0.0 / 0.0 / 20.12 / 1.25
1.25 / 0.0 / 0.0 / 20.12 / 1.25 / 0.0 / 1.1 / 1.1
etc…

I have been through inductive university but I can’t really find an example there that gives me an idea of how I should be attacking this. Any help getting started is appreciated.

Brad

The first thing to do is get your data into a dataset. I guess you aren’t recording these samples? If not, you’ll need to script the generation of the dataset. Something like this (in a script module):

myArrayPattern = '[default]Path/To/Array/Tag/_%d_'

def datasetFromTagArray(size):
    tagPaths = [myArrayPattern % i for i in range(size)]
    values = [x.value for x in system.tag.readBlocking(tagPaths)]
    rows = [[v] for v in values]
    return system.dataset.toDataSet(['MyColumn'], rows)

Then you feed this dataset to a bar chart. If you want an XY chart, you’ll want to make two columns, x & y.

In either case, it’ll matter whether you are using Vision or Perspective.

{ BTW: you didn’t find an example because what you are doing is very unusual. Ignition, like any SCADA system, likes to record stuff, and then show the recordings. }

1 Like