Creating a Video Component

Hi I’m somewhat new to building visual components in Ignition and am working on a video component utilizing the VLCJ library. Currently I’m running into the issue of the component not serializing onto the root container, it creates a new instance of a frame and I would like to embed it into the root container. Currently I’m using IntelliJ and Maven to create the module for Ignition 8.1. Any insight and help is much appreciated.
Class construction:

public class VLCJComponent extends AbstractVisionComponent {

private final EmbeddedMediaPlayerComponent myPlayerComponent;

private JPanel refPanel;
    private MediaPlayerFactory factory;
    private VideoSurface videoSurface;
    private JFrame frame;

private String VideoPath = null;

public VLCJComponent() {
        // set the perferred size of the component
        setPreferredSize(new Dimension(352, 240));

JFrame frame = new JFrame("Testing VLCj");
        frame.setBounds(10,10,352,240);

myPlayerComponent = new EmbeddedMediaPlayerComponent() {
            @Override
            protected void onBeforeRelease () {
                super.onBeforeRelease();
            }

@Override
            protected void onAfterRelease () {
                super.onAfterRelease();
            }

@Override
            public void videoOutput (MediaPlayer mediaPlayer,int newCount){
                super.videoOutput(mediaPlayer, newCount);
            }

@Override
            public void playing (MediaPlayer mediaPlayer){
                super.playing(mediaPlayer);
            }

@Override
            public void error (MediaPlayer mediaPlayer){
                super.error(mediaPlayer);
            }
        };
        // display the player
        myPlayerComponent.setVisible(true);
        frame.setContentPane(myPlayerComponent);

frame.setVisible(true);
        this.add(myPlayerComponent);
    }

/**
     * This function will play the video. It takes one argument, a String video URL path.
     */