CSV Auto-Import to Tag History

Looking for some collaboration help from the community :slight_smile:

The setup...
My customer utilizes a device/instrument that only has 2 possible options for external communication/integration into Ignition.

1. It can automatically export data to a semi-colon delimited CSV file.
  2. It does have a proprietary protocol/API but it uses a C dll and I'm not an expert with rewriting it to work with an Ignition SDK Module. Wouldn't even know where to start with something like that and would probably take me months to figure out.

So my focus has been on trying to use the CSV option. Couple more characteristics to consider.

1. The columns in the CSV will vary per "Batch".
  2. The CSV is opened by the OS system and continuously writes to it (typically 1 second scan rates), that doesn't prevent someone from opening the CSV or copying it <-- I've verified that piece.
  3. These "Batches" may run multiple days (200k+ rows in the CSV).
  4. Multiple "Batches" could be running at the same time - the device/instrument in question has 5 channels and they use 2 of those devices. So they could potentially run 10 "Batches" at the same time.

The goal...
I need to figure out the best/most efficient way to ingest those CSV files into Ignition's Historian. Here are a couple of my thoughts that I'd like some feedback on. Each one I have done smaller proof-of-concepts but am not sure if anyone might have other ideas.

1. Wait till the batch is finished and use the system.tag.storeTagHistory() based on a user clicking a button. The user would have to select/identify the CSV to import. There is no automatic detection of when a batch is complete other than no more rows being written to the CSV. This is already/mostly scripted for a different piece of their system, so it would be the fastest solution to implement.