Custom Function Implementation

Hello everyone,

My company want me to implement a few custom expression functions to Ignition as shown below:

).

However, I am new to Ignition and unfortunately, I can’t find out how to add the custom expression functions with the help of the documentation. As far as I know, I have to first extend the AbstractGatewayModelHook.

After that, the problem(s) starts:

1. How to get access to the “expression” functions drop down list?

2. How to add the “custom” functions within the existing function drop down list?

3. How can I “import” the custom code to the tool? In mean in the documentation it is described, that the gateway can load a .modl file, but where do I find this gateway within the tool?

Thank you very much in advance for help.

Your best bet is to start by becoming familiar with Ignition, because you’ll need to understand the difference between the Gateway, Designer, and Client before you can start writing custom modules. The free courses at Inductive University are a great place to start.

Once you’re familiar with Ignition, work through compiling and installing one of the example SDK modules, so you can see how to build, sign, and load a module without worrying about adding new code. Until you’ve mastered those steps, it’s a bit early to worry about #1 and #2 in your question.

1 Like

Just to add some clarification to Kathy’s comment: Writing custom expression functions requires writing and compiling Java code and distributing it in a .modl file. Not only can your not do this with jython, the expression function system is almost totally separate from the jython scripting system.

Hello Kathy and pturmel.