Dark Mode Ignition? Eye Strain

I'm a newbie to Ignition and was wondering if Ignition has a 'dark mode' available?
(Not themes for the Views, but an overall change-like dark mode on Iphone etc for working within Ignition.).
I am used to working in Visual Studio Code's dark mode and working in Ignition is causing some slight eye strain. (This is not a big deal but was just was genuinely wondering!!)

Just curious if anyone knows how to work around this or think they will make this possible in the future!
It would be an AWESOME feature to have!!! :slight_smile:

Eye strain is much worse, long term, with dark mode. (If you know anything about depth of field in optics, and what your pupil does, it is no shock.) Fix your room lighting if light mode bothers your eyes. Long topic:

Some young developers have worked out some hacks recently, so they can destroy their eyes faster. I'm not going to help you find it.

Dark mode is the hipster thing, but you will regret it.

7 Likes

I'm no hipster, and in the past, I've wanted to back you up on this assertion because it's intuitive, but I can't find a single peer reviewed study that supports the claim that dark mode damages the eyes or causes early onset presbyopia. However, I did find one peer reviewed study that found legibility was enhanced by using dark mode for users that already had presbyopia. I've seen several studies linking excessive screen time to abnormal eye development in children, but this screen time was mostly video content, so it's not directly linkable to light or dark mode theme settings.

That said, there are a lot of studies linking excessive bright screen time to disruptions in circadian rhythm, and because of this, I use software on my computers and handheld devices to gradually red shift the colors when it's getting late. Furthermore, I often switch to a dark mode theme when I know I'm supposed to be shutting down because once I get going on a problem, I need all the help I can get to stop.