Dataset and loops

Hi all,

I am new to Ignition and scripting and I am stuck again.

I am trying to get the value of one cell and use that value in another cell.

This is what I have:

newDataSet = system.dataset.toPyDataSet(tabStrip.tabData)		

for row in range(newDataSet.getRowCount()):
		#get the value of column 1 of each row.
                value = newDataSet.getValueAt(row, 1)
                #set value of mouseover_text to value.
		system.dataset.setValue(newDataSet, row, 'MOUSEOVER_TEXT', 'value') 
	#convert back to dataset			
	tabStrip.tabData = system.dataset.toDataSet(newDataSet)

I don’t get any errors but it just does not change the value of mouseover_text in each row.

What am I missing here?

Thanks, Steven

You have to take and use the return value from system.dataset.setValue(). It doesn’t modify in place, it returns a new dataset with the requested change. Datasets are not intended to be modified in place.

@pturmel,

So how do I do this in a loop?

or are you sayng I cannot do this looping through the dataset? Maybe do it as list?

Thanks, Steven

Datasets are Immutable objects. This means that once they are created they can not be changed. Ignition provides functions that take in a dataset to use as a base, perform an operation, and then return a new dataset with the intended change.

This is one way you can do that in a loop:

#Declare a variable to hold the existing dataset to be modified    
newDataSet = tabStrip.tabData

for row in range(newDataSet.rowCount()):
    #get the value of column 1 of each row.
    value = newDataSet.getValueAt(row, 1)
    #set value of mouseover_text to value.
    newDataSet = system.dataset.setValue(newDataSet, row, 'MOUSEOVER_TEXT',value) 
#write the modified dataset back to the data property of the component			
tabStrip.tabData = newDataSet