Derived Tag Incrementing Memory Tag Value

Hi all,

I’m new to Ignition so hoping to get some assistance with something that seems like it should be possible. I’m experimenting with a Derived Tag. I would like to compare the value of two tags, if they do not meet my requirements I would like to increment the value of a memory tag.

Could someone point me in the right direction?

Thank you in advance!

You can use a gateway timer script.
In that script, compare the values of the two tags using system.tag.read and if they are not within your requirments, increment your memory tag using system.tag.write.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply! I had tried using a Tag Event Script but I it wouldn’t update the tag. Checking the log, it would give a valueChanged NameError: and say the tag doesn’t exist.

I created an expression tag and it would update itself correctly, but this is where I had the Tag Event Script and it didn’t work.

I’ll try the gate timer script to see if I can make headway with hit. I liked the idea of the tag though.

This isn’t what I’m wanting, but its an example of it not working.

If the tag Counter has a timestamp older than tag Current_Sheet, I would like to have the value to match the tag Counter.

var0 = system.tag.read(“Counter”).value
var1 = system.tag.read(“Counter”).timestamp
var2 = system.tag.read(“Current_Sheet”).timestamp
if var1 > var2:
system.tag.write(“Current_Sheet”, var0)

Make sure that you specify the provider when targeting tags from the gateway scope, e.g. [default]MyTag instead of MyTag.

Hope this helps…

2 Likes

Thank you, I’ll try that now!

From the Script Console I can enter the following and it works but not from a Gateway Tag Script. I tried the square brackets but it wouldn’t work in either window.

var1 = system.tag.read(‘SizingSaw/Counter’)
var2 = system.tag.read(‘SizingSaw/Current_Sheet’)

if var1 <> var2:
system.tag.write(‘SizingSaw/Current_Sheet.value’, var1.value)