Device programming

I am putting this in the General forum because it is really vague and sort of nebulous and could technically apply to other software besides Ignition, but that is what I am using.

I am a software engineer by trade and was put in charge of Ignition for a new plant we’ve built. I am not looking for specific answers to questions, but instead I am looking for direction on where I can read and learn about how to answer these questions. Any and all guidance is appreciated and I hope you can bear with me through what might be a painful explanation…

I have a device in a plant that I need to program/schedule using Ignition.

I have a mixer, ran by a motor, and the motor is driven by an Allen Bradley Powerflex 755.

I need to run the mixer on a schedule:

• If the mixer is set to ‘Auto’
  • Run Forward/Reverse depending on the schedule
  • Set a specific speed for the mixer

The scheduling is taken care of in Ignition, that was actually quite easy with a couple of emails to IA support. However, figuring out how to exactly control the motor/mixer has left me vexed.

I’ve read over the documentation and I am coming up short on everything.

I look in Ignition and I see a lot of tags for the motor/mixer. Tag examples:

• ForwardPB
  • ForwardCMD
  • ReversePB
  • ReverseCMD
  • AutoMode
  • ManStart
  • ManStop
  • SpeedActual
  • SpeedActualPercent

My question is, how do I know what values to write to which tags? I mean, I can infer some of what I need to do based on tag names and some previously written software in Ignition. But if I want to run the mixer in forward how do I know that I am supposed to write ‘x, y, z’ to tags ‘a, b, c’.

Where would that be documented? I don’t see anything that even remotely resembles those tag names in any of the docs that I have access to. Is this something that I am just supposed to know as a controls/scada/etc person? Am I missing a a piece of the puzzle?