Doubt on Numeric text field

Hi Guys, I am not an expert in Ignition/Java first off all, but had a quick doubt on numeric text field. In an old post I saw that we could access the underlying component (JTable) of a Power Table to do some higher level of functionality via java. This was done using the function getTable().

Similarly, is there an underlying component for numeric text field, if yes then how can I access it and what all java libraries do I have to import to do so. Thanks in Advance

Welcome to the forum!

1. Vision or Perspective? (Edit your post and add the relevant tag. It will attract the relevant experts as well as being important for the actual answers.)
  2. Ignition can most likely do what you need without requiring library magic. What is the actual problem you’re trying to solve? You mention Numeric Text Field and then Power Table. Which is it?

I am working with numeric text field in Vision.

You don't have to import anything. It is a java component that subclasses standard Swing stuff.

Start here:

Then look here:

https://files.inductiveautomation.com/sdk/javadoc/ignition81/8.1.1/com/inductiveautomation/factorypmi/application/components/PMINumericTextField.html

1 Like

Check out the introspect function @pturmel linked to, it is very useful. You can use plain old dir but the introspect gives you a bit more context.

If you don’t know how to examine components, the way I like to do it is via script console.

Open up the window that has the component in question in designer, then open script console. Then you can do

window = system.gui.getWindow("Some Window")
rc = window.getRootContainer()
someComponent = rc.getComponent("some container").getComponent("some component")
# now you can do 
result = shared.instrospect(someComponent)
print result
# or with dir
for thing in dir(someComponent):
    print thing
1 Like