Dropdowns

I am a complete newbie at scripting so please be gentle.

I am attempting to take the combination of two dropdown boxes, determine the selected combination and then set an SQL tag based upon this combination. What I have done so far is create the dropdowns and setup the data tables associated with each. When the selections are made, the operator will push a pushbutton and the appropriate tag will be set. The first dropdown returns a value of 0, 10, 20, 30, etc… The second dropdown returns a value of 0 through 6 only. I created a Dynamic Property of the pushbutton that is bound to an expression that adds the returned values of the dropdowns. So I am able to generate a unique number for all dropdown combinations. Now the part where I have no idea what to do. How do I take this unique number, associate it with an SQL tag and then update the tag when the button is pushed? For clarity, the result of the two dropdowns say, 23 will always associate to tag x and only tag x, if the result were 11, it would always associate to tag y and only tag y. I will have 42 unique combinations of the dropdowns and have 42 tags that this will manipulate so a brute force method is acceptable to me. (I’m good at copy and paste :laughing: )

Thanks,
Shawn

So, you just want to write a 1 to whichever tag is selected?

Let’s say you have two drop downs and a button all in the same container. “Dropdown1” has your “10s”, and “Dropdown2” has your “1s”. Lets pretend all of your SQLTags are called “TagX” in the root of the provider (that is, not under a folder). You could do the following on the button’s “actionPerformed” event:

tens = event.source.parent.getComponent("Dropdown1").selectedValue
ones =  event.source.parent.getComponent("Dropdown2").selectedValue
system.tag.writeToTag('Tag'+str(tens+ones), 1)