Dynamic go back button Perspective

Hi,

I am new to Ignition and the scripting in this program.
I have a “go back” button in my dockview and i want to make it go back to the previous view.
All my views are in the same page.
So i know what view i want to go back from any view i am in, but because it is in the dockview it has to be dynamic.
I have tried different scripting event, but cant get it to work.
My quenstion: is there a way to make it dynamic.

Ik have to do the same with a text field for showing my status per machine.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Ronnie

Using Perspective to “go back” to different Views instead of using the browser to go back to different Pages is going to be a fairly complex process. I’ve thought a bit about how to set this up in the past and there are a few ways to do this:

1. You could query a database which is set up to have a column like currentViewPath and a column like backViewPath, and then when the button is pressed query for the backViewPath based on your current View’s path and navigate to the result.
# If you don't have a default database for the project, you'll need to include an argument for that
# This also assumes a table named "ViewNavigationLinking"
viewPath = system.db.runQuery("select backViewPath from ViewNavigationLinking where currentViewPath={0}".format(self.page.props.primaryView))
system.perspective.navigate(view=viewPath)
  1. You could have a tag which operates the same way.
viewPath = system.tag.readBlocking([self.page.props.primaryView])[0]
system.perspective.navigate(view=viewPath)
  1. You could have a custom property on EVERY View which declares the path of the View to go back to from this View. This would then also require a configured message listener on the View root listening at the Page or Session scope as well as a broadcast from the button on that same scope.

Button script:

system.perspective.sendMessage('VIEWGOBACK', scope='page')