Dynamic referencing in property Change script

Hi,

Im fairly new to text programming and was wondering if there was a function or notation in scripting that works the same way as in indirect tags.

Where in indirect tags I would use {1} to reference another variable.

Im trying to do a simple if statement in a propertyChange script.

example:

if event.propertyName == "DeviceChange"

DynamicDeviceName = "DeviceName"  #F1,F2,F3,F4,F5,F6,F7,F8 and so on........
  #The DynamicDeviceName has over 40 different possibilities.

if event.source.Service."DynamicDeviceName" == 1: #DynamicDeviceName is defined by which DeviceName is present.
     print "Good Vibes only"

if event.source.Service.F1 == 1:
     print "SomeCoolStuff"
  #F1 is a device but it can also be: 
  if event.source.Service.F2 == 1:
     print "SomethingElse"
  #since "F2" is also a Device in the udt

# event.source.Service   is a reference to a Template property called Service which is a UDT that contains 42 booleans. 
  # So to call upon the wanted information I Wish to call upon event.source.Service.F1 when the DeviceName is F1

Thanks,
Thomas

Can you edit your question (pencil icon), select each piece of code and use the </> code formatting button to format your code? This will preserve indentation, apply syntax highlighting and make it much easier to read.

I don’t really understand the question very well, could you rephrase it a bit?

You can use variables in Python like this:

myVar = 5
print myVar
#This will print '5' 

There is possibly a way to accomplish what you are trying to do, but you haven’t given enough information.

What type is event.source.Service? I say that because as far as I am aware no component has a Service property.

What is the overall goal here, there may be a much better way to achieve whatever it is you are trying to achieve.

1 Like