Dynamically populating a tree view

I have the python script that is reading files out of a folder, i wanted to dynamically populate a tree view with the data.

What I have done to this point was add a script to the app module that works fine. Then i added an expression to the data/item of the tree view. when it opens i get an error:

Cannot coerce value 'C:\path\file.csv' into type: interface
I am new to ignition and I’m not sure how to link the two. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction, thx.

should probably post your scripts and a better example of what you are trying to accomplish. are you trying to read data out of a csv file and use that data to build a dataset for a treeview component?

Thanks for the reply, im reading a folder on my C drive, taking the filenames out of the folder and I wanted them to display in the treeview.

Here is my app script:

def treeList(path = r'C:\folder\\'): import os, csv, glob #read all the files in a folder files = [] for fileName in glob.glob(os.path.join(path,"*")): files.append(fileName) return files

here is what I have listed in the data > Items script:

runScript("app.Tree_View.treeList()")

Here is the error I’m getting, it is listing the files but tells me:

Cannot coerce value '['C:\\folder\\file1.csv', 'C:\\folder\\file2.csv']' into type: interface

Thanks

Im guessing its the way im trying to link the data to the tree, does anyone have any experience trying to do this? Thanks

yes you need to take a look at the dataset in the treeview component and make whatever data you are pulling from those files formatted to match that dataset.

Thanks Diat150,

I tried formatting my returned values a little, but I am a little unsure how they are supposed to match. I read how I need to have the path along with the name, I believe that those are the only required items. I then changed my python to return (path, name) but it still does not work.