Edit different rows in a table

I Have a table with 4 columns ID Name Address and Phone. I want to be able to edit each cell and have it change in the database. So far I have it coded to change the Name side and it works. I have some experience with programming but not a lot. The script I have is

print event.row, event.column, event.newValue
data = event.source.data
id = data.getValueAt(event.source.selectedRow, 0)
name = event.newValue
system.db.runPrepStmt(“UPDATE Customers SET Name = ? WHERE ID = ?”, [name, id])

How can I make it so I can edit the address and phone side and have it update in the database? I have tried a couple ways but it ends up changing the name in the row as well.

Try something like this:idCol = "id" cols = ["id", "col1", "col2"] row = event.row col = event.column column = cols[col] value = event.newValue data = event.source.data id = data.getValueAt(row, idCol) system.db.runPrepUpdate("UPDATE table SET %s = ? WHERE id = ?" % column, [value, id])Here we set the id column so we know which row to update. We also set the columns that could be editable (line 2 cols = …). Hope this helps. If you have any questions on it let me know.

That helped thanks a bunch. :prayer:

How might you make it so you could add a row/cell or delete a row/cell with buttons?

Take a look at our editable table example here:

files.inductiveautomation.com/ex … Table.vwin

It is a window backup. So you can import it in the designer through the right click menu on All Windows in the Project Browser. It shows how to add/delete rows of information.

How do I save that file to my computer so I can access it through the Designer?

Nevermind I got it.

This is all quite confusing. I figured the OrderBy to tag with DB Browse so my table showed up but I don’t really know what to do with TableName. In the database the name of the table is Customers so I typed that in in TableName and the red goes away. But when I run it and click the add row it comes up with this error