Edit SQL content

Hello

I'm new to SQL but I've manged to get it to work somehow. But it's not too intuitive to change existing content. This is how it works today:

To add a new row, enter new BatchNo (SQL key):

Then this row is created:

Then select the batchNo that just was created from the drop down, and fill in the blanks. This works okay.

Then it will be updated:

But if i want to change an existing row, i have to enter the batchNo, and fill in ALL the blanks. If not, they will be overwritten by whatever is in the fields.

When i click "Oppdater" button, i get all values from the fields and run a named query like this:

Is there a way that i can select a batchNo, and all input fields gets the value from the SQL, so that I dont need to fill inn all fields? Or any other ideas for how to make this easier? :slight_smile: Typically I only want to change 1 or 2 fields at a time.

Usually when someone is editing a record (an SQL table row) like this the sequence is:

• The user selects a row number somehow.
  • An SQL SELECT query returns the data for that row.
  • The input form is populated with that data. Now you have all the information you need if any one field is updated.
  • The user updates the information on the form. (This can be one or many fields - but not the table's row ID number.)
  • The user submits the change and the UPDATE SQL query is executed. This allows for use of a single UPDATE query with all fields updated.

Tip: post formatted code rather than pictures of code. That way we can copy and edit in our answers.

Thank you so much for your fast reply! This make alot of sense. Not quite sure how to do this though.

I have a button ("Velg"), which runs this:

def runAction(self, event):

parameters  = {
"BatchNo":1,
}
system.db.runNamedQuery("BrewHistorySelect", parameters)

This return the name of record 1, which is "Lucky Jack" :