Expression Tag Questions

Howdy,

I am pretty new to using Expression tags. I’ve been playing around with them for the past week. I am using them to write values to a few devices via Kepware (Modbus) and Ignition OPC (Ethernet) servers. The things I am writing are:

1. Communication Heartbeat
  2. Process Variable Setpoint

I’ll describe what I am doing with the communication heartbeat. If I can figure out my problems with that, I’ll be able to fix my process setpoint writes as well. I am trying to write to a communication timeout period register. This register essentially just counts down in minutes. So if I don’t write a value in x minutes, the communication timeout alarm occurs. I tried to do this with an expression tag and I noticed that I wasn’t always writing to the device. My code was something like:

if({[~]Device/Timeout Period}<5,5,6)

And I am writing back to the same OPC register that {[~]Device/Timeout Period} is reading from. The expression tag is correctly writing to the device register initially, but then the Timeout Period will get down to 0 and the expression tag will stop writing. I’ve been able to get this to work by modifying my expression to something like this:

{[~]Device/Timeout Period}+5

The Timeout Period register will saturate at 120. However, I’d like to be able to accomplish this task by being able to use a global timeout period and write a constant value (5-10 minutes).

So my high level question is this: How can I make sure that the expression tag is writing to the OPC address at an (approximately) near constant rate? Best I can guess is that the OPC writes happen when the expression tag has a new value than the last write. Maybe part of my problem was related to reading and writing to the same device register.