Formatted Text field - committed value

Hi all,

I am new to Ignition and scripting. I am trying to sort out an issue with formatted text fields.

I have a formatted text field that works (I thought the way it was supposed to). When I enter text, the text property and the committedValue update. (commit while typing = false).

I fire a property change event on committedValue.

While trying to learn how to add selecting the text on focus, I created another formatted text field to play with. HOWEVER, I cannot get the new field to commit. I have set everything the same as the other, but when I press enter, the text property changes, but not the committedValue property.

So why would a formatted text field not commit on enter? I am sure it is something simple I am missing.

Any ideas?

Thanks, Steven

So this is very disturbing!! I have had a formatted text field working for some time now. I have a script on the property change event and filter on committedValue. Has worked for quite a while. It was working when I posted the op.

Today, it is not working. It will not commit.

Is there something I could have changed somewhere that would affect this?

Thanks, Steven

I think it might be better served if you called IA and get some one on one time.

Also, don’t forget about Inductive University, https://www.inductiveuniversity.com/courses/whats-new-in-ignition-8/8.0. You really need to get through all of the videos first.

@jlandwerlen,

Thanks for the help. I have been through IU...100% and I refer back to them when necessary. I have also read everyting I can find on formatted text fields.

I am pretty sure that someone here will have some technical advice. So many have helped me thus far as I am getting started.

If not, I will give IA a call.

Thanks, Steven

Export a window with the problem happening and attach it here.
This is kind of hard to begin troubleshooting by asking questions.

@MMaynard,

Test_Window.zip (3.9 KB)